The Schengen Regime

The Schengen Agreements guarantee the free movement of persons without travel document controls at national borders in all Member States. Implementation of the rule at airports with non-Schengen operations requires that passengers on Schengen flights and non-Schengen flights be physically separated.

At  Václav Havel Airport Prague, this requirement is addressed by dividing operations between two terminals – Terminal 1 and Terminal 2. For non-Schengen flights for which controls on travel documents are performed, Terminal 1 is used, while Terminal 2 is used for Schengen flights.

The Schengen area currently includes all European Union Member States together with Iceland, Norway and Switzerland. EU countries not in the area are Bulgaria, Ireland, Cyprus, Romania and Great Britain.

The Schengen area is not automatically extended to include all overseas territories belonging to the Member States. Included are the Portuguese Azores Islands, Canary Islands and the Spanish exclaves of Ceuta and Melilla in Africa. Not included are all the overseas territories of France, Norway's Svalbard, the Danish autonomous territory Greenland and the Faroe Islands (which are not even part of the EU), overseas Dutch autonomous regions of Aruba, Curacao, Sint Maarten, Bonaire, Saba and Sint Eustatius.