Passenger Check-in

Visa, travel documents


Current Information and Recommendation for Passengers:

Information on the airport's protective measures, prevention, testing and other important information for travelling can be found HERE.

ALERT: According to the Czech Government regulation effective as of 25 February 2021, please wear a FFP2 respirator or two surgical masks when inside the airport. It is no longer possible to use textile face mask or use other ways of covering your nose and mouth. Thank you for protecting yourselves and those around you.

Transit through Germany is possible only subject to humanitarian and other exceptions. Therefore, it is not possible to transfer at a German airport, for example, when travelling on holiday. More information HERE.

We ask passengers flying to Amsterdam who wish to undergo a mandatory antigen test to arrive at the airport at least three (3) hours before their scheduled departure. More information HERE.

To review all conditions to travel to the Czech Republic, please visit the Ministry of Interior of the Czech Republic’s website.

Prague Airport is divided into Terminal 1 (where flights to countries outside the Schengen area are checked in) and Terminal 2 (where flights to countries in the Schengen area are checked in). Therefore, the necessary documents and visa required vary based on the final destination. Before each trip, we recommend that you carefully read the conditions for entry to the territory of the given state.

Flights to the Schengen area

The Schengen area includes all member states of the European Union (and their overseas territories) excluding Bulgaria, Romania, Ireland, Cyprus, Croatia and Great Britain. In addition, the Schengen area also includes Iceland, Norway, Switzerland and Lichtenstein which are not EU members. The Schengen regime guarantees the free movement of persons, therefore it is necessary to have an ID card with you and no other visa or permits are required.

The Schengen area does not automatically extend to all the overseas territories of member states. The Portuguese Azores, Spanish Canary Islands and Ceuta and Melilla exclaves in Africa are included. On the other hand, not all overseas territories of France, Norwegian Svalbard, the Danish autonomous territory of Greenland and the Faroe Islands (they are not even part of the EU), or the overseas Dutch autonomous regions of Aruba, Curacao, Sint Maarten, Bonaire, Saba and Sint Eustatius are included.

For more detailed information about the countries which are part of the Schengen area, please see here.

Flights outside the Schengen area

For flights outside the Schengen area (which are checked in from Terminal 1), you must also have a valid passport with you (except for states that allow entry to their territory with an ID card only). After check-in and boarding pass control by the validator, passport control follows, with the security check being performed directly at the gate.

When travelling to certain countries, you must also have a visa that varies by the length and purpose of stay in the given state. Always check the detailed conditions for entry to the territory of the given state before your departure.

For more detailed information regarding the visa regime with other states and other travelling conditions issued by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Czech Republic, please see here.

Child passport

When travelling abroad, each child and adult needs a valid travel document. The conditions for travelling with children are specified by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Czech Republic, please see here.

Have you not found what you were looking for?

FAQ – Frequently Asked Questions